Read · Review

A Coronation of Kings – review


a-coronation-of-kingsThis is the cover of a great book. The name of the book: A Coronatin of Kings by S.C. Stokes.

Tyranny. Desperation. Rebellion.

While Tristan may be the heir to the House of Listar, at heart he’s more a lad than a lord.

Mad with power, the ruthless and scheming Baron of Belnair will stop at nothing to gain the crown. In the dead of night, the Baron massacres Tristan’s family and burns their home to the ground. Desperate and alone, Tristan must fight for his life and his people.

With everything at stake, Tristan must unite the unlikeliest of allies to block the Baron’s ascent. For the first time in his life, he must become the leader he was born to be.

The Baron’s armies grow as an ancient magic stirs in the mountains. If Tristan fails, the throne, his freedom, and the love of his life will be lost forever.

A Coronation of Kings is the first book in this exciting new fantasy series. If you like fast-paced adventures, spellbinding sorcery, and wondrous new worlds, you will love Samuel Stokes’ A Coronation of Kings.

 

I will start with the fact that this is a fantasy book. I love reading fantasy. This book might not be like the Wheel of Time or the Lord of the Rings but I love it. It’s easy to read and it’s very interesing. The story started a bit slowly but after a few pages it got me hooked so much I couldn’t put it down. In general this is a very interesting read.

The fantasy world was built very well and the character development was good. I had the feeling that I can connect with the characters. It felt as if the places and the characters existed long ago in our world and this is a story that shows the past. While reading the book it constantly reminded me of other books. But in the fantasy genre almost everything is the same. There are a lot of book about kings raised by wizards or books that try to show the neverending fight between good and evil. It’s the same even in the paranormal genre. But what makes this book different is the approach the author takes. I like the way the authors has succeeded in finding the balance between dialogue and descriptions.

What surprised me the most was the forward from the auther where he states that the readers might find similarities and differences between the novel and other traditional fantasy works. Not many author would say that. I appreciate the honesty. Furthermore, in the forward the author states tht the goal for the pace of the novel is to be an action-packed fantasy novel. I believe that S.C. Stokes succeeded to achieve that. The other thing that I like about the author is that he doesn’t shy away from feedback. I like author who are open to criticism.

I also like the idea of the map. It’s a very beautiful map which you have the option to view in a larger size on the ebook version of the book.

map-of-valaar-low-size-no-border-1024x576
This is the map you can see in the e-book

Another positive thing I can list are the names. They are well-though and easy to pronounce. I don’t like name I can’t wrap my tongue around when saying them. And admit it. It’s easier to say Listarii than Warmliornarcrad for example, the latter I just made up. Without giving away any spoiler I will tell you that so far this is the best fantasy book I’ve read in recent years and the epilogue will leave you wanting more. From the moment I read; The black-hooded figure slipped quetly through the shadowy streets of Mizumumra.; I knew that there is more going on but I will have to wait for the sequel to find out. But that is not what nailed me to my chair. It’s the very last sentence that made me wanna eat my phone while waiting for the next part. A very good ending that will make your hands itch for more.

6930143y

I give this book 5 out 5 stars and strongly recommend it to all fantasy fans and to those that haven’t read book in the genre before. You will like it.

Вашият коментар

