Review

Dark Lover – Review


In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.
 
The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

I’ll start with the fact that I first read this book on my birth language.

One day I was in the bookstore looking for some good fantasy book and I ran across this. The first thing that made me buy it was the cover.

This is the Bulgarian cover of Dark Lover

As you can see the cover is beautiful. I loved it. Before this book I haven’t encountered vampires like those. The only kind of vampires I knew was the one created by Anne Rice.

I went home and started reading. The book hooked me up from the beginning. I found the names strange and the terminology, but I got used to it. I instantly liked Darius and Tohrment. Then when Wrath was introduced I didn’t like him so much in the beginning. WTF? A blind vampire? I thought that vampires were suppose to be perfect not with defects?

I didn’t like this (and I still don’t like the ides). For some reason I couldn’t get used to the idea of vampires with defects, but later I learned that there defects and cursed defined them.

I cried when Darius died before he had the chance to meet his daughter.

Then when I Beth was introduced I instantly loved her.

I was surprised by the fact that Wrath and Beth got to have an intimate experience so fast. I think it was the second time they met. (correct me if I’m wrong, please). But what can I say. They were so cute together that fist time. I loved the was how she bosses him around when she wanted to be intimate with him for a first time.

„Kiss me,“ she said.
He hovered above her, a silent menace.

She smiled up at him, relishing the sudden hunger in his face. „Touch me.“

„Pull up my shirt.“

It was so comical. He wanted her and in the same time wanted to pull away, while she wanted to be with him. That was great.

I started to hate the lessers from the beginning. Nasty buggers. The book progressed some what normal. Neither slow, nor too fast. Beth and Wrath had their moments. They argued, loved each other…in the end the kidnapping was the ‘total cherry on the top’. This totally made my book my favorite out of the series.

I love characters who are strong and gentle. Wrath was what I’d imagined for a man. Strong, deadly, fierce, caring and loyal. Beth was tender, gentle and in the same time was ready to do everything for those she loved. Even if it mean that she would loose her life in order to safe someone she loves.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

I recommend it for reading to all who love to read paranormal books.

Review made by
Victoria

Вашият коментар

